When you’re tired of the app, you can delete or deactivate – How to Delete a TikTok Account
This article explains how to delete your TikTok account from inside the app on iOS or Android.
What to Know
- Tap Profile, tap the three-dot menu, tap Manage My Account > Delete Account > Verify and Continue > Delete Account.
- Your account deactivates for 30 days prior to being permanently removed so you can still see chat messages.
How to Delete Your TikTok Account
Before you move forward with deleting your account, be warned that you’ll lose all of your TikTok data, including your videos. Plus, if you purchased items inside the app, you won’t receive a refund.
If you wish to save your video content from TikTok prior to deleting your account, choose a video, tap the three dots icon, then tap Save Video. The video will be saved to your device.
Once you’re ready to delete your TikTok account, it only takes a few steps to make it happen.
Open the TikTok app, then tap the profile icon, which looks like the outline of a person, in the bottom corner of your screen.
Tap the three dots in the upper right-hand corner of your screen.
Tap Manage My Account > Delete Account.
For verification purposes, you may be asked to verify your identity by logging into your Facebook or Twitter account. If needed, tap Verify and Continue to move forward.
A confirmation screen will appear. If you wish to move forward with deleting your account, tap Delete Account. “Your account will be deactivated for 30 days before being completely removed from TikTok’s database. During this time, your account won’t be visible to the public. Chat messages may still be visible.
You’ll be asked again if you’re sure you want to delete your account. Tap Delete to continue. Once complete, your account will be deactivated.
If, within the next 30 days, you decide you want to reactivate your TikTok account, simply log into your account using the app. You’ll be able to access your account immediately.